Skip to main content
Welcome to MAE

Our mission is to conduct visionary research in pursuit of the world's next great advances while providing a world-class education to tomorrow’s leaders in the fields of mechanical and aerospace engineering.

Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

The Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering has roots at Cornell that go back to the founding of the University in 1865. Since then the Sibley School has grown to become one of the largest academic units in the University. Currently housed in Thurston, Kimball, Upson, Grumman and Rhodes Halls, the Sibley School is home of the mechanical engineering (ME) B.S. degree program as well as graduate programs in the fields of mechanical engineering, aerospace engineering (AE) and theoretical and applied mechanics (TAM).

 facebook_button35  twitter-button35  youtube-icon-85  linkedin-logo35wh  GooglePlus35

Recent News

Cornell Research Online - Predicting How New Materials Behave

Professors Dawson and Miller along with collaborators to build an integrated infrastructure for...

Professor Singh received the 2017 Young Investigator Award from the Society For Biomaterials

The award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in the field of...

Cornell to receive $1.2 Million for Biofuels Combustion Research

from The Department of Energy's (DOE) Co-Optimization of Fuels and Engines (Co-Optima) program for...

Researchers link robots to surveillance teams

Researchers are developing a system to enable teams of robots to share information as they move...

Engineer Max Zhang awarded Engaged Scholar Prize

Max Zhang, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, is the winner of the second...

Latest Spotlights

Micro-g NEXT, a Cornell Engineering team

advised by Dr. Ana Diaz Artiles (MAE) releases a video highlighting their research.

Lara Backer, Ph.D student in Professor Pepiot's research group

received the 2016 Charles P. Fenimore Best Student Presentation Award, for her paper entitled “Numerical investigation into the auto-ignition of a multicomponent fuel spray,” presented at the 2016 Spring Technical Meeting of the Eastern States Sectio...

Xiangkun (Elvis) Cao, a Ph.D. student in Professor Erickson's lab

was selected as the Graduate Division Winner for all disciplines in the fifth annual Student Research Showcase Competition, run by Sigma Xi - The Scientific Research Honor Society.