Skip to main content

in this section

Sibley School of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering student awards

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

We offer our congratulations to undergraduate and graduate award winners.  The recipients of awards are ordinarily announced at the Sibley School Graduation Ceremony, but this year’s weather concerns led to an abbreviated ceremony ( 

 Here are the awards:

Outstanding Senior Award

Leslie Cheng
Jason Flahie

Leslie served the Mechanical Engineering undergraduates as president of the Cornell Chapter of the American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME) this academic year.  Jason, who graduated in January, held this position last year. Their strong leadership efforts raised awareness of ASME via outreach, social and professional activities.


Walter Werring Prize for Excellence in Studies:

Walter W. Werring, for whom this prize is named, graduated from Cornell in 1922 with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. This award was established to recognize talented and dedicated undergraduate Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering students who have enhanced the Cornell Community, excelling in a manner befitting the reputation of the Sibley School. 

Corinne Elizabeth Lippe
Adam Matrab
Emma Claire Thomson


Frank O. Ellenwood Prize

This prize was donated by an alumnus who wishes to remain anonymous in honor of the late Sibley Professor Frank O. Ellenwood.  Professor Ellenwood co-authored a classic three-volume text on heat-power.  This award is presented to the seniors with the highest composite average in heat and power-related engineering courses.

Peter Chen
Do Hyun Chung
Corinne Elizabeth Lippe


Thomas J. and Joan T. Kelly Prize

This Award is based on excellence in aerospace engineering, as demonstrated through coursework or an innovative design project. The awardee must show tangible evidence of being a well-rounded person with an outstanding non-engineering contribution to Cornell and/or the greater community.

Jesse Miller
A Directionally Stable Robotic Sailboat: Concept and Simulations
Research with Professor Andy Ruina


Bart Conta Prize in Energy and the Environment

Best work on a research or design project dealing with energy and the environment; selection based on a review of project summaries.  Bart Conta was a professor of thermal fluid sciences at Cornell and had a great interest in sustainability and environmentally friendly energy sources. He was a beloved teacher and was active from the 1930's until the 1980's.

Joshua Levi Ringquist
Alexandra N. Thompson
Daniel Wilentz
Passive Acoustic Detection of Bird Strikes on Wind Turbine Blades
Research with Professor Rebecca Barthelmie


Sean Hidaka
Operating Solar PV and Ice Storage in Post-Net-Metering Hawaii
Research with Professor K. Max Zhang


Sibley Prize for Excellence in Graduate Teaching Assistance

This prize is awarded to Ph.D. candidates who served as outstanding teaching assistants for Sibley School undergraduate courses for this academic year.  This prize recognizes their commitment to assisting undergraduates and is based on recommendations by students and endorsed by faculty. 

Daniel Joseph Asselin
Edward Bonnevie


H.D. Block Graduate Teaching Prize

In recognition of outstanding performance by Ph.D. candidates who served as an outstanding teaching assistant in math.  Most outstanding TA in Undergraduate Engineering Mathematics or Engineering Mechanics Courses as determined by feedback from students and by faculty support.

Lauren Lazarus


Outstanding Achievement Award

M.Eng. in M&AE: Awarded to the graduating student who has achieved the highest academic standing in the Master of Engineering Program.

Jesse Miller


The Sibley Prize

Graduating Seniors: Awarded to two M.E. Class of 2016 undergraduate students with the highest overall GPA.

Do Hyun Chung
Kellen McCormick


The Sibley School Senior Class Speaker

On behalf of the B.S., ME Class of 2016, Lauren Tweel, B.S., ME '16, was selected for the honor of presenting a speech at the Sibley School Graduation Ceremony.

Special thanks to Chelsea Sidrane and Alexandra N. Thompson for producing the 2016 Class Senior Video and Slideshow.
Congratulations to the Class of 2016!



back to listing